#teachtheweb: Add the web to anything!

Lainie Decoursy

In week 4 of Teach the Web, we explored how to include web skills while teaching other topics. We learned a bit more about the teaching and learning interests of other participants, as evidenced by some of this week’s makes. Using this hackable Thimble template, participants outlined learning goals for everything from teaching programming logic to five year-olds to playing medieval board games.

This Padlet captures some of the highlights, but you can see more of the week 4 connections, conversations, makes and learnings in the G+ community here.

We also hosted the second Teach the Web live session on Air Mozilla. Laura Hilliger and Doug Belshaw led a discussion about remixing and contexualizing educational resources, with a focus on how the development of these resources might connect to Mozilla’s Web Literacy Standard. You can watch the complete session here.

Next up: this week Teach the Web is all about Webmaking as Learning, and designing projects and supporting activities for the web literacy skills we’d like to address with our learners.

It’s not too late to get involved!

  • Dive into this week’s tasks. They will be posted on Tuesday here.
  • Join this week’s Twitter chat. We’ll host a Twitter chat from @mozteach on Thursday, May 30th at 5pm UTC/1pm ET/10am PT using #teachtheweb.
  • Join the #teachtheweb Google+ community. Connect with other mentors, share knowledge and get inspired.

No responses yet

Post a comment

Post Your Comment