Learn & Make with Mozilla in June

Kristina Gorr
Mozilla Summer Maker Party 2015

Mozilla Summer Maker Party 2015

This month, Mozilla is excited to offer three events to cultivate, motivate and activate learning and making across the globe!

Mozilla Curriculum Workshop

Thursday, June 16 9am PT/ 12pm ET/ 5pm UTC

Join co-hosts Amira Dhalla and Chad Sansing broadcasting live from London. Invited guests Su Adams, Bud Hunt, and Christopher Rogers, as well as drop-in Mozillians, will talk shop about summer learning, participatory learning outside school, and curriculum development on the web.

Here’s a bit more about the guests:

Mozilla Learning Community Call

June 29; 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 8pm UTC

Summer learning loss is a real challenge, especially for those who may not have access to enriching educational opportunities. There has been a good amount of research and discussion on this topic, and on the June community call, we’ll be exploring the types of fun and engaging learning experiences that can–and do–happen during the summer. Educators from Hive NYC, Hive Chicago and Hive Toronto will join us to share real examples of programs that illustrate the impact that learning and making can have on young people during this critical time of the year.

You can learn more about summer learning opportunities at National Summer Learning Association, John Hopkins School of Education and US Department of Ed’s Y4Y initiative.

How do these summer programs Demystify the Web for young learners? Explore our learning space at the Mozilla Festival and how you can submit a proposal to share your program strategies and best practices with a community of like-minded peers in a professional learning environment that models hands-on, interest-driven learning for youth and adults alike.

Guest speakers include:

  • Lisa Kim, Youth Commission Director for Mikva Challenge in Chicago, IL , where she works with diverse young Chicagoans to involve youth voice in the City’s decision-making process.
  • Niberca (Gigi) Polo, Emoti-con 2016 design fellows lead, Part-Time Associate Teaching Professor at Parsons The New School for Design, and Principal at Myellow Boots Studio.
  • Dr. Dixie Ching, co-lead of the Hive Research Lab, a project out of Indiana University and New York University that serves as an applied research partner to the Hive NYC Learning Network.
  • Andy Forest, lead at STEAMLabs, a not for profit community makerspace in the heart of Toronto providing digital fabrication, electronics, woodworking and other tools and skills training to kids and adults.

#TTWchat with @MozLearn

All-day, June 30

Join us for a tweet chat that brings the curriculum workshop and community call discussions together for even more learning and making possibilities.

No responses yet

Post a comment

Post Your Comment