Celebrating Ada Lovelace Day & Women in STEM

Kristina Gorr

We’re celebrating Ada Lovelace Day throughout the month of October and hope you’ll join us in celebrating women in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

Augusta Ada King-Noel, Countess of Lovelace, also known as Ada Lovelace, lived in the mid-1800’s and was an English mathematician and writer. She is considered the first computer programmer, as her notes on the Analytical Engine (a mechanical general-purpose computer created by Charles Babbage) are considered to be the first algorithm intended to be carried out by a machine. From Wikipedia, “She also developed a vision of the capability of computers to go beyond mere calculating or number-crunching, while many others, including Babbage himself, focused only on those capabilities. Her mind-set of “poetical science” led her to ask questions about the Analytical Engine (as shown in her notes) examining how individuals and society relate to technology as a collaborative tool.” Read more.

 
Join us in honoring her legacy by marking your calendars for these upcoming Ada Lovelace Day events!

Mozilla Curriculum Workshop: Tuesday, October 11 6am PT/9am ET/ 1pm UTC

In our webcast this month, we’ll be recognizing the challenges, accomplishments and contributions of women leaders from the Mozilla Leadership Network around the globe. Join to help us build teaching and learning resources promoting women and the web.

Mozilla Learning/Mozilla Science Community Call: Thursday, October 13 8am PT/ 11am ET/ 3pm UTC

The presence and participation of women in STEM is on the rise thanks to the efforts of many across the globe, but there are still obstacles and barriers to overcome. This month, Mozilla Learning and the Mozilla Science Lab are joining forces to explore current opportunities and supports for women in STEM around the world.

Guest speakers include:

You’ll also hear from each of the new Mozilla Fellows for Science to learn more about their work and how they’ve been inspired by women in science. Join our community call on the 13th!

#TTWchat: Wednesday, October 19 9am PT/12pm ET/4pm UTC

Join @MozLearn and @MozillaScience to discuss and celebrate women in STEM during a one-hour tweet chat.

Questions we’ll discuss include:

  • What advice would you share with young girls interested in pursuing scientific fields?
  • What inspirational female scientist role model do you look up to and why?
  • What book/biography changed your perspective on women in STEM and why?

You can also sign up for our monthly newsletter, which includes information about upcoming events, featured teach the web activities, announcements, and more at www.learning.mozilla.org.

No responses yet

Post a comment

Post Your Comment