April Mozilla Learning Events

Kristina Gorr

MozFest 2015

In March, we successfully launched our Curriculum Workshop, Community Call, and #TTWchat. Thank you to all who participated, supported, and helped spread the word about the new ways to connect with us and our network around the globe.

Thought-provoking discussions will continue this month, as we explore the Internet of Things.

Mozilla Curriculum Workshop: Tuesday, April 12 – 5 PM PT, 8 PM ET, 9 PM BRT

Consider how the Internet of Things might impact our lives and learning and prototype resources to teach about the ways wearables and household items connect to the web.

Guests include:

  • Jie Qi, a PhD student at the MIT Media Lab in the Responsive Environments group.
  • Jeremy Boggs, a design architect at the University of Virginia’s Scholars’ Lab.
  • Natalie Freed, a computer science and digital fabrication teacher at Lick-Wilmerding High School.
  • Andre Garza, a Mozilla Clubs Regional Coordinator and educational technologist.

Mozilla Community Call: Wednesday, April 20th, 11 AM ET/ 4pm UTC/ 5pm CET/ 9:30pm IST

In this call, we’ll explore how we’d like to control our personal data in the home, especially as homes become increasingly connected. We’ll compare how people from India, Scotland, Germany, the UK and beyond are engaging with these questions and how we can build provocative prototypes that bring these ideas to life.

Guests include:

  • Rikta Krishnaswamy, user researcher from Quicksand in Bangalore, India
  • Jon Rogers, professor of product design from the University of Dundee, Scotland.

#TTWchat: Thursday, April 28
We’ll continue the great discussion that begins in the curriculum workshop and community call on Twitter via @MozTeach. Follow us for details!

No responses yet

Post a comment

Post Your Comment